Unexplored around Bangalore…

It is true without pictures no one will be interested in reading about a place, but then since I haven’t been there, I felt some of these places needed a mention and a slight push on the internet, for people to somehow find them and update the world. I could hardly find much online, as not many people have been there, may be they didn’t come out interesting, but from what glimpses I saw, they sure did look beautiful. On a train journey back from Kochi, that too a day journey, brought out many amazing landscapes and visuals for my musings. On further research I came across a couple of probable interesting places to be for Bangaloreans. But they aren’t that easy an access either it seems.

1. Rayakottai Fort:  This place looked amazing from the tracks.. a huge Savanadurga type of Rock, but a singular one standing tall in midst of fields around. It is supposed to be a long forgotten Fort of Tipu Sultan – Rayakottai. From far away, it looks an intriguing little remain of an old structure placed neatly over the top of the hill. Since I could not find exact images that were impressed on my mind while looking out the train’s window .. I could find some close ones here – http://arunthetraveller.blogspot.in/2011/05/tipu-sultans-lesser-known-fort-across.html

It is a trek, and with the rocks I’m guessing difficulty level = hard Approx. about 100 kms from Silk board Junction, Bangalore – yes you need to drive down Hosur Road.

2. Thoppaiyaru Reservoir: This place looked so amazing, with a calm river that flows into a reservoir..with no guarded or inhabited banks what so ever. A perfect picnic spot in amazing pleasant weather. I’m not quite sure though if it is a visitable spot, as I do not think anyone has ever gone so far in search of a quiet spot – only a few mentions here and there by people driving towards Kerela from Bangalore. Why hasn’t anyone stopped here and brought some amazing images back? may be they all forgot to enjoy the journey in order to reach their destinations 😉

Approx 200 kms from Bangalore, best to drive beside the railway tracks

Approx 200 kms from Bangalore, best to drive beside the railway tracks

Google earth image - railway track goes in the north of it

Google earth image – railway track goes in the north of it

This place is definitely something I want to check out.

3. Kadudhanapalli Lake: There is a quaint little lake on this path, again a Picnic spot appears to me, a village is near by and I feel it is a good place to relax on a sunday afternoon.

Approx 60 kms from Silk Board Bangalore - down Hosur road

Approx 60 kms from Silk Board Bangalore – down Hosur road

4. Kesarkuli dam: It is seems like an amazing location – surrounded by hills on almost all sides.

On google maps - Approx 200 + kms.

On google maps – Approx 200 + kms.

I imagine opposite side of this bridge must be more interesting – have to be there to find out. More here – http://www.panoramio.com/photo/26650767

5. Teerthahalli Lake: I’m not sure where I saw this place, but it was in my wish list that I keep track on my phone, on researching -Got some interesting images on this blog- http://paadooru.blogspot.in/2013/05/a-brief-visit-to-teerthahalli.html https://madhusudangs.wordpress.com/tag/teerthahalli/

Leave a Reply

